New Mayville State University president named

March 29, 2018

Mayville State University made a major step forward this week when the State Board of Higher Education and presidential search committee named Dr. Brian Van Horn as the new president. Presidential Search Co-Chair and SBHE Member Casey Ryan helped lead the last round of questions, which took much of the morning. All Board members had a chance to weigh in with different questions.

Presidential Search Co-Chair Dr. Andrew Pflipsen noted that the search process had been ongoing since last November when AGB had started to craft presidential position and campus profiles. After refining the process and publicizing the search, nearly 50 candidates expressed their interest in the position. Questions posed to the candidates delved into strategic planning, leading during challenging circumstances, collaborating with other campuses, and more.

After a morning of in-depth public interviews, Dr. Brian Van Horn was unanimously named to be the new president of the four-year university. Van Horn will follow the leadership of President Gary Hagen, whose career has spanned nearly four decades at the campus. Hagan announced his retirement last year.

After the morning’s interviews, the Board entered executive session to privately deliberate on the proceedings and individual qualities among the candidates. Following nearly two hours of deliberative session, the Board emerged to name Van Horn as the new president.

“Without question, the characteristics this institution has, and the community it serves, are exactly those I want to live in and work with,” Van Horn said. “I will be a leader that will work with the people, and we will do it together. I look very forward to this opportunity.”