Faculty recognized at showcase

March 29, 2017

Biennial event offers a pedestal for campuses and professors


Some of the North Dakota University System’s most technologically-innovative faculty were recognized this week during the NDUS Legislative Showcase. The event offered legislators and members of the public a full day’s view into professors and programs highlighted by the system’s 11 public colleges and universities.

The State Board of Higher Education had formally recognized five faculty during its December 2016 meeting. Those honored were Jeff Boyer, professor of practice at North Dakota State University; David Peterson, associate professor at Bismarck State College; Doug King, professor at Dickinson State University; Toby Stroh, assistant professor at DSU; and Sheila Liming, assistant professor at University of North Dakota.

The recognition and awards were made possible due to House Bill 1201, which “established funding for commendatory grants to higher education faculty members.” Under the legislation, the university system is funded to provide four $500 awards to faculty members who use technology in new ways to help deliver education. The NDUS is presently compiling nominations for the 2017 faculty awards in June.

Other faculty recognized at the NDUS Legislative Showcase this week included Gary Albrightson, associate professor at Dakota College at Bottineau; Sarah Sletten, assistant professor at Mayville State University; Mary Huston, assistant professor at Minot State University; Missi Twidwell, associate professor at North Dakota State College of Science; Angela Williams, assistant professor at Valley City State University; and Wanda Meyer, associate professor at Williston State College.

Technologies ranged from those that improved classroom instruction via immediate feedback and the facilitation of individual and collaborative research through course blogs, archiving and a means to showcase student work to assignments that enable students to experience new technologies that will be expected of them in their respective field and the additional benefit of cost savings through the use open educational resources.