Valley City State University campus successes – May

May 25, 2016

Vangstad renovation celebrated with ribbon-cutting ceremony

VCSU held a ribbon-cutting ceremony and open house for its newly renovated Vangstad Auditorium building on the afternoon of Wednesday, May 4. During the 2013 North Dakota legislative session, VCSU received an appropriation of $3.45 million for the Vangstad renovation. The project included a refresh of the auditorium; installation of a new heating, ventilation and air-conditioning system for the lower levels of the building; and renovation of the lower floors with new classrooms and offices for the Department of Business and updated facilities for the Learning Center and Student Academic Services. The building’s main entrance was also reworked to provide a more attractive and functional entryway.


Faculty excellence awards announced

President Tisa Mason has announced the 2015–16 VCSU Faculty Excellence Awards. Recipients are Andre DeLorme, Senior Faculty (associate or full professor) award; Kathryn Woehl, Junior Faculty (instructor or assistant professor) award; and Lee Grossman, Adjunct/Special Appointment award. Andre DeLorme, Ph.D., professor and chair of the Department of Science, teaches courses in biology, limnology and aquatic entomology. Kathryn Woehl, Ph.D., an assistant professor in the Department of Social Science at VCSU, has taught psychology at the university since 2010. Lee Grossman, J.D., has taught criminal justice courses in the Department of Social Science at VCSU since 2013.


VCSU commencement held Saturday, May 14

VCSU held its 124th spring commencement exercises Saturday, May 14, in W.E. Osmon Fieldhouse. A total of 288 students—242 undergraduates and 46 graduate students—were eligible to participate in the commencement exercises. President Tisa Mason presided at the commencement ceremony. Representing the North Dakota State Board of Higher Education (SBHE) at VCSU’s commencement was Greg Stemen, a 1988 VCSU alumnus. Graduating senior Malik Jackson of Las Vegas, Nev., presented the undergraduate student reflection. Luis da Vinha—VCSU assistant professor of geography and political science, and 2015–16 VCSU Teacher of the Year—provided the faculty reflection. Video of the commencement ceremony is archived at


vcsu-tisa-tarah-commencement-2016 vcsu-m-ed-hooding-commencement-2016 vcsu-malik-parents-commencement-2016 vcsu-malik-commencement-2016 vcsu-hug-commencement-2016 vcsu-adventure-commencement-2016