Dalrymple Appoints McEwen to State Board of Higher Education

June 24, 2014

Gov. Jack Dalrymple has appointed North Dakota State University (NDSU) graduate student Christopher McEwen to serve as the student member of the State Board of Higher Education. The appointment is effective July 1, 2014, through June 30, 2015. McEwen will replace current student member Devin Hoffarth whose one-year term expires June 30.

“Chris brings to the State Board of Higher Education a unique perspective as a graduate student who has also served as a graduate teaching assistant,” Dalrymple said. “His broad experience in student government and campus life will also be valuable in the board’s decision-making processes.”

McEwen is a native of Minot, N.D. He graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in statistics and psychology from NDSU in 2010 and is pursuing a master’s degree in statistics.

McEwen has served in NDSU’s student government as a senator and executive cabinet member. He is president of the university’s Graduate Student Association and the Graduate Student Council. McEwen also has served in several leadership roles in the North Dakota Student Association.

McEwen’s community involvement includes serving as a board member for the Red River Valley Asperger-Autism Network and Great Rides Bike Share.

In making the appointment, Dalrymple also commended out-going student board member Devin Hoffarth for his service to North Dakota’s university system.

The State Board of Higher Education consists of seven citizen members who are appointed by the governor to serve four-year terms and one student appointed to serve a one-year term. The board sets policy for the North Dakota University System and is the governing body for the state’s 11 publicly supported colleges and universities.