Presidential searches move forward

August 25, 2015

Dickinson State University logo
Committee narrows Dickinson State University presidential search to 10 candidates

The Dickinson State University presidential search committee met in Dickinson recentlyto narrow the list of 47 candidates to 10.

“The committee was able to look through a great group of qualified candidates from a wide variety of backgrounds,” DSU presidential search committee chair Kari Reichert said. “AGB Search consultants are impressed with the strong interest in DSU from across the country. It is an exciting time for the campus and community.”

The committee’s next step will be to interview the candidates Sept. 1 via distance-learning technology. Each interview will last approximately 45 minutes with a 10-minute break in between.

The finalists that will proceed to the interview stage include:

Michael F. Anderson, Ph.D., vice president for academic affairs, Wayne State College, NE

Stephen Easton, J.D., current professor and former dean of the college of law, University of Wyoming, WY

Daniel H. Hanson, Ph.D. president, Peru State College, NE

Steven E. Hardin, Ph.D. vice president and dean of academic affairs, University of Pittsburgh at Bradford, PA

Cheryl D. Lovell, Ph.D., president and CEO, Rocky Vista University, CO

Thomas M. Mitzel, Ph.D., dean of faculty / vice president of academic affairs, Trinity College, CT

Petra M. Roter, Ph.D., vice chancellor for student affairs, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, WI

Richard G. Shrubb, Ph.D., former president, Minnesota West Community and Technical College, MN

Karl Ulrich, Ph.D., professor of biological science; former provost & vice chancellor for academic affairs, University of Montana Western, MT

Steven K. Yoho, Ph.D., president of the Atlanta, Georgia Campus, Argosy University, GA

Following the distance interviews, the search committee will conduct on-campus interviews Sept. 16 and recommend a slate of finalist candidates to the State Board of Higher Education, which will conduct final interviews on the DSU campus Wednesday, Sept. 30, with the selection of the next DSU president announced thereafter.



University of North Dakota logoUniversity of North Dakota presidential search committee named

The North Dakota University System announced the members of a Presidential Search Committee to identify candidates for the position of president of the University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, N.D. Dr. Robert Kelley, who has been the president at UND since July 1, 2008, will be retiring in January. The Committee is co-chaired by Dr. Hesham El-Rewini, UND dean and professor, and Mr. Grant Shaft, former member of the North Dakota State Board of Higher Education, and is composed of students, faculty and staff from UND, as well as community leaders from the area.

“I am confident that the chosen committee members will do an excellent job of representing UND’s various stakeholders,” said El-Rewini. “I look forward to working with them on assembling a list of the best possible candidates.”

Members of the committee include the following:

Dr. Hesham El-Rewini, UND dean of the College of Engineering and Mines

Mr. Grant Shaft, former State Board of Higher Education member

Ms. Kathy Neset, current State Board of Higher Education chair

Mr. Nick Hacker, current State Board of Higher Education member

Dr. Alena Kubatova, UND professor and director of recruitment and chemistry

Mr. Leon Osborne, Jr., UND professor of atmospheric sciences

Ms. Angela Morgan, UND administrative assistant at the Energy and Environmental Research Center

Ms. Shari Nelson, UND associate director of Learning Services and Student Success Center

Dr. Linda Neuerburg, UND assistant director of American Indian Student Services

Mr. Matt Kopp, UND undergraduate student

Ms. Samantha Perrin, UND graduate student

Mr. Jim Poolman, president of Jim Poolman Consulting, Bismarck

Dr. Larry Skogen, Bismarck State College president

Dr. Mark Hagerott, North Dakota University System chancellor